Welcome to the Computer Science Student Society, the student club for undergraduates at the UBC Department of Computer Science. We provide a social space where everyone’s welcome (in ICICS 021), run events, and represent your interests to the department. For more events you may be interested in, please see the department's calendar. Please feel free to email us at [email protected].

2013 CSSS Election Results

The election results are in!

57 votes were accepted out of 59 total.

3 People ran for president:
Anmol Gupta: 20 votes
James Deng: 27 votes
Henry Chee: 21 votes
James Deng is president elect.

3 others ran and were elected into their chosen positions:
Mike Wu (VP Finance): 46 yea, 2 nay
Matthew Arnold (VP Communications): 44 yea, 6 nay
Michael Kwan (VP Social): 47 yea, 3 nay

Since not every position had a candidate, our remaining positions still need to be filled. Email vpc [at] thecube [dot] ca about your chosen position if interested!

CSSS Lazer Tag

The CSSS is hosting a lazer tag event at Planet Lazer Richmond. Registration is $5 for CPSC students and also includes pizza+pop. Maximum 30 people, so register soon at The Cube (ICICS 021)! (Tickets are $20 for non-members)

Saturday, March 23, 2013 - 12:00
7391 Elmbridge Way

2013–2014 Executive Elections

CSSS elections are coming up, so vote on March 14th/15th from 11AM-3PM at
Reboot café.

Interested in an executive position in the Cube for 2013-2014? Get your nominations together! This is a great opportunity to show leadership, challenge yourself, and have fun! For your name to go on the ballot, you will need nominations from ten members of the CSSS (all students in the Computer Science department are members). Members of the CSSS are all undergraduate students in the Computer Science department (the grad students are part of the CSGSA). We have a database of student numbers, and will be checking against it, which is why you have extra spaces available. If in doubt, get more students to sign your nomination form!

Nominations can be picked up at the Cube Office (ICICS 021). Forms must be submitted at the Cube Office by 12PM on Wednesday, March 13th to be approved by the CSSS Returning Officer, Kerry Li <elections [at] thecube [dot] ca>. Submit your forms as early as possible, because voting starts the next day! The earlier your form is approved, the earlier you can start campaigning!

The positions open are:

  • President
  • Vice President, Communications
  • Vice President, External
  • Vice President, Internal
  • Vice President, Social
  • Vice President, Volunteering Services
  • Vice President, Finance
  • Vice President, Administration

For descriptions of the responsibilities of the positions, please see our constitution, specifically bylaw 8.

Thursday, March 14, 2013 (All day) to Friday, March 15, 2013 (All day)

CUTC Hackathon

This is one hackathon you can’t afford to miss. Facebook. Microsoft. 800 developers. Energy drinks. Ready? The CUTC Hackathon will be one of the craziest nights of your year, as you build something awesome, get feedback from some of the top people in the industry, and end up with serious prize money. If coding’s not your thing, you can always set up a late-night LAN party instead—snacks are on us!

Saturday, May 4, 2013 (All day)

CSSS Boardgame night at Reboot Café!

The Cube will once again be hosting our bi-weekly board/card game night this Friday in Reboot Café. We’ll be providing some games as usual but you’re more than welcome to bring your own games—and friends, too!

Partial List of Games:
Settlers of Catan
Ticket to Ride: Europe

P.S. rumor has it there’ll be snacks…

Friday, February 15, 2013 - 17:00 to 21:00
Reboot Café